William Control and Andy Black

It’s been awhile, but I finally got some live music back in my life. And who better than to bring it back than Mr. William Control? Especially since his new album, part 2 of a 4 part EP project he’s calling Revelations, was just dropped. Following the Pale EP, the Black EP comes to us with 1 music video already released and a new song from the album introducedĀ at his headliner show in Cleveland at The Agora Ballroom and Theatre.

img_20170216_185632_620

Cleveland is not a fun drive for me. And I really overestimated the traffic and ended up 2 hours before they were letting the VIPs into the venue, which was an hour before regular doors. VIP was the usual warm welcome that I’ve come to know from Wil, and my poster was vandalized by Kenneth, which was not an unwelcome thing. Sometimes you need things in your life that you didn’t know you’d need, like a poster of William Control with crudely drawn glasses and the word “nerd” in silver Sharpie.

img_20170222_120617

First band was local to Cleveland, a duo called Toxic Waters. Highlight of the set; His rendition of John Legend’s “All of Me” that he dedicated to his girlfriend. Second band was also local, called Minimal Concern. I actually met the bassist’s mom while in line to get into the venue. Both bands were good, and I went and liked their Facebook pages so I can keep track of them. I really love going to shows where local bands are playing and finding that they have great energy. Too often local bands just don’t put themselves into their live performances, and that’s a shame.

After the local bands was a group called Master T.C. and the Visitors. These guys come out all in black, one in face paint, some with bowler hats with goggles. A guitarist was wearing the ultimate frilly Gothic Victorian shirt. Needless to say, some assumptions were made on what I was going to hear. It’s true what they say about not jumping to conclusion, though, because what I heard was NOTHING like I was expecting. Which was at first surprising and caught me off guard, then finally I warmed up to it. Not my usual style of music, but I very much enjoyed myself.

received_10211876776460562

All the Gothic Victorian Frilly goodness

Then we had Palaye Royale. Now, I had heard of these lovely guys before, but never took the time to look into their music. There was a high number of 13 year olds who had come to the show specifically for them, so it’s not surprising that I hadn’t checked them out yet, but I’m glad I did finally get to hear them, because they were fantastic. High energy, interactive, and the lead singer took his fucking pants and shirt off and sang in his underwear. An unexpected move, but one that I can honestly respect in a way. It takes a lot of confidence and guts to sing in front of people, especially a crowd of people. It takes a little more guts to sing in your underwear under the same circumstances, at least in my opinion.

received_10211877339114628

And finally, we came to William Control. If he is anything, William Control is consistent in the quality of his shows. I really cannot recommend more highly that you guys go see him live if you never have before. And his tickets and more often than not very decently priced, even VIP. The one thing that surprised me, though, was that he did not come out after his set to see people at the merch table. However, it’s understandable since they needed to get on the road.

img_20170216_233233645

Sass Master

The next night had me in Cincinnati, where traffic was surprisingly worse than Cleveland. I got in just after Palaye Royale had started playing and wormed my way up as far as I could. They didn’t take their pants off, but after meeting them after the show I found out that was only because they couldn’t their shoes off. Forgivable. Knowing a little more of their music than I had the night before, it was nice to be able to sing along to some of their songs. They’re really sweet guys, and I appreciate that in someone who clearly has a lot of young people looking up to them.

img_20170218_083314_680

William was up after, and being on an even bigger stage had him swinging his mic more than usual, which is always impressive to watch.While it’s understandable that majority of the people in Cincinnati were there for Andy Black, the crowd was still very receptive to Wil, and he fed off our energy.

A quick tip from yours truly: If you go to a show, try to actually fucking enjoy yourself. Because I’ve seen it too many times where the crowd isn’t necessarily familiar with the band and so just stands there and doesn’t interact. And that’s pathetic. You’re there to see a show. if they’re putting on a good show, you should be reacting accordingly.

And then Andy Black took the stage. And the crowd went wild. Fun fact that I learned that very night: Cincinnati and Andy Black’s hometown. He played Battle of the Bands in high school right there at Bogart’s. I wasn’t sure what to expect from Andy, as I haven’t listened to his music since I heard Knives and Pens by Black Veil Brides, but he put on a great show and was very entertaining. And he played Dancing With myself by Billy Idol, so that earned major props from me.

 

It was nice seeing Wil play with Andy Black, but I’m itching to see him do a real, full headlining tour. Who would you like to see Wil bring along on a tour?

Leave a Reply

