Let’s Talk SycAmour

Some of you have never heard of the band from Detroit, MI. And all I can say is that I am so sorry it’s taken this long. Pretty soon I’ll have most of you constantly humming Renaissance at work.

My first time seeing SycAmour was in 2013, before they got signed. They were playing with a couple other bands at a small venue in Fort Wayne, IN, that was called Broadripple. I couldn’t tell you who the other bands were that night, because SycAmour made the biggest impact on me. Their stage presence was phenomenal, and after the show Jeremy ran around getting the other guys to sign the poster I bought for me. The guys are so sweet and down to earth, and I personally have a lot of respect and love for a musician who doesn’t let their musical talent go to their head.

2015-02-04_11.13.10-1

I’ve edited out my ex for privacy reasons.

So, I bought their Obscure EP and a t-shirt and a poster and followed them on Facebook. When suddenly, the call for help went out early 2014. The guys were looking for friends and fans to come help them shoot a music video. So I grabbed a friend and drove from Southern Ohio to Detroit on almost no sleep to help them with their video for Renaissance. That’s right, I am in a music video. Very briefly, and none of my friends even saw me until I pointed myself out (I’m in the black dress with the white polka dots), but I’m still in it, damn it!

Not long after that, we found out the big news… that the boys had gotten signed to Hopeless Records! In a small venue in the basement of someone’s house in Detroit the band threw a signing party, with local Detroit bands playing before they finally did a set for us. Spirits were high, everyone was proud of the guys, and it was just overall a good night.

IMG_20151204_112909

That’s Tony up on my friend’s shoulders at the signing party. I’m in the Tripp pants.

Unfortunately, I haven’t gotten the chance to see the guys since. But I’m crossing my fingers hoping they get a tour date near me soon. Because seriously, these guys are amazing. I’m super picky about screaming vocals, and I could listen to SycAmour all day. I use their newest album, Indulgence: A Saga of Lights, to get people hooked. Even my boyfriend, who doesn’t normally like my kind of music, enjoys listening to them. His favorite song from that album is Downpour. I have trouble choosing a favorite, but I’m definitely pretty partial to The Measure.

 

Have you ever heard of SycAmour before? After listening to their music, what songs are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

